Gong - Gong Est Mort, Vive Gong

Gong - Gong Est Mort, Vive Gong


A1. Can't Kill Me

A2. I've Been Stoned Before / Mister Long Shanks / O Mother

A3. Radio Gnome Invisible

B1. Zero The Hero & The Witch's Spell

B2. Flute Salade / Oily Way / Outer Temple

C1. Inner Temple (Zero Meets The Octave Doctor)

C2. IAO Chant & Master Builder

C3. Sprinkling Of Clouds

D1. From The Isle Of Every Where To The End Of The Story Of Zero The Hero

D2. You Never Blow Your Trip For Ever

Released: 20/04/13


Gong - Gong Est Mort, Vive Gong

Psychedelic space rockers Gong have been through so many line-up permutations they could make the Sugababes blush. Formed in Paris by erstwhile Soft Machine guitarist Daevid Allen during 1967, (following visa complications that denied him entry to the UK), and renowned space whisperer Gilli Smith, the band initially came to wider attention in the early 70s with their second album 'Camembert Electrique'. It was, however, with the Radio Gnome Invisible trilogy comprising the albums 'Flying Teapot', 'Angel's Egg' and 'You', the latter two of which featured what is considered to be the band's classic line-up replete with Steve Hillage's lewd guitar, that they cemented their place in the pantheon of progressive rock.

Following the release of 'You' Gong splintered into various factions that would, over the years, lead to an almost bewildering array of different versions of the band, including Mother Gong, Planet Gong featuring Here & Now and, during the early 80s, New York Gong with Bill Laswell playing a major role. In 1977, with Gong drummer Pierre Moerlen holding the reigns of the band and taking it through a 'difficult' jazz fusion direction, the classic line-up came together for the first of what would be many reunions to headline a 24 hour festival at the Paris Hippodrome.

Revisiting 'Camembert Electrique' and The Radio Gnome Invisible trilogy in their entirety, 'Gong est Mort, Vive Gong' is the band's definitive live album, capturing the highlights of their Paris Hippodrome headline performance in all their lysergic glory. The album opens with Camembert's 'Can't Kill Me' and (the slightly renamed) 'I've Been Stoned Before, ebbing and flowing through myriad pothead pixie grooves including stand-out interpretations of 'Radio Gnome Invisible' and 'Zero the Hero and The Witch's Spell'. Following a mid-set breather courtesy of Gong stalwart Didier Malherbe's 'Flute Salad', 'Gong Est Mort.' goes on to document a band whose virtuosity never blunted their all-out cosmic riffing, with 'Oily Way', 'Master Builder' and epic versions of 'Isle of Everywhere' and 'You Never Blow Yr Trip Forever' showcasing just why they've endured as a stoner's favourite.


Writers: Daevid Allen

Publisher: Copyright Control

Ultimate Rights Holder: Adageo